This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...
New Scoring Rules functionality is now available to be added to fixtures, so you can now publish or edit your fixtures for the upcoming season. Please see the relevant help guide:
Club & County Board Sites: Scoring Rules
Competition Sites: Scoring Rules 
hide announcement
Airedale & Wharfedale Senior Cricket League – Umpires Association

The Umpires Association of the Airedale & Wharfedale Senior Cricket League is proud to co-operate with and support the league in all cricket, social and development activities.

History and objectives

The Airedale & Wharfedale Umpires` Association has been established in its current format since 1960. Our objects include –

i) to create and maintain a spirit of sportsmanship and comradeship on and off the field of play.
ii) to improve the efficiency of all umpires
iii) to secure uniformity of action on the field of play our motto, “without fear or favour”, expresses the beliefs and values of our members.

We have an active umpires panel of some 90 to 100 members, and it is important to maintain and increase membership, as we need to staff 72 appointments, covering 36 fixtures every Saturday of the season. The association also covers the league`s active 3rd XI competition, with matches played on a Sunday, and all cup fixtures for 1st, 2nd and 3rd XIs cup competitions and representative fixtures on Sundays and Bank Holidays.

President dates

Jim Joule 1960-62
L Bell 1962-65
S Theakston 1965-68
Arthur Kaye 1969-74
Ronnie Knight 1975-76
Terry Ambler 1977-97
John Holmes 1998-2002
Les Rigg 2002-05
Mike Hibbert 2005-10
Tony Crowther 2010-13
John Chartres 2013 - present

Representative Match Appointments

Representative match appointments are as follows.

i) Two from the Panel are nominated annually to the Yorkshire Senior League Competition

ii) Two from the Panel are nominated annually to the White Rose Competition

iii) All the League Joe Lumb games are covered by nominated Panel Members

iv) All the League`s fixtures at U11, U13 and U15 in the Yorkshire Junior Cricket Festival are covered by nominated Panel Members.

Training Courses

Training Courses for Umpires and Scorers are held annually throughout the Winter months in conjunction with the Yorkshire Cricket Board`s Association of Cricket Officials and these courses are suitable for all active, potential or interested Umpires, whether experienced in our profession or for spectators or players who are curious to learn more about the Laws of cricket and the art of Umpiring.

Joining The AWSCL Umpires Association

If you wish to join the Association, then please contact one of the following.
Barrie Crighton on 01943-461-097
Tony Crowther on 01943-875-675

The Umpires Panel includes both men and women, and Members range in age from 30 to 80. The Association is always delighted to hear from Umpires re-locating to the area or from local cricket-minded colleagues, who are interested in commencing or furthering their career in the Airedale & Wharfedale Senior Cricket League.

Tony Crowther should be contacted if you wish to join the Umpires Panel and he would be delighted to offer more information to prospective members regarding the Association, Annual Dinner and meetings programmes – our annual subscription is just £10.00.

Meetings Of The Association

These take place at three times a year, usually in late April, mid season and early October and usually at Otley RUFC, Cross Green, Otley. An annual pre-season Dinner is held in March, and this is the highlight of the social calendar. It, too, is usually held in Otley, this time at the Golf Club.

Life Membership Of The Association

This is bestowed upon Umpires after 20 years continuous service to the League and to the Association. Our Association is run and administered to the same high standards and repute as the League itself .

Officers Of The Association

John Chartres (President)
Dave Bell (Vice President)
Tony Crowther (Secretary)
Barrie Crighton (Treasurer)
Other Members of the Management Committee are Alan Kitchen, Jane Pratt, Peter Roe, Nick Ryder and Bernard Thornton.

Life Members

C Beck, AD Bull, IM Chappell, G Clough, CD Cockcroft, JB Crighton, AD Crowther, B Day, RG Fuller, M Hibbert, JA Holmes, J Holmfield, B Jackson, D Leadley, R Lunn, C Mason, F McConnell, TE Moss, I Naylor, TMC Poulter, L Rigg, G Robertson, A Smith, DL Steel, AB Stone, D Summersgill, C Taylor, PC Towler, KB Townsend, JB Warne, SA Wood